Chicken w/Roast Peppers & Olives for South Beach Diet

Good Day Dearest Blog Readers!

Boy, has this seemed like a long week.  I feel like today should be Friday instead of Thursday…wishful thinking.  Maybe I’m just hoping that we would have been having pizza tonight, but that will have to wait until tomorrow night.

Tonight I’m going to make something with shrimp/prawns; don’t know what I’ll do with them yet, but I’ll come up with something.

A couple of nights ago, I made another recipe from the 101 Fantastic GI Recipes book.  As I said in a previous post, I’ve really enjoyed all the recipes I’ve made so far and this one is no different.

I actually made it as printed (for a change!) with the exception that I halved some of the ingredients in the recipe as this serves four and we’re only two. I used the same measurements on the onion and garlic and puree…oh yeah, and I added some sliced mushrooms.  OK, so maybe I didn’t quite make it as printed…you can’t blame a girl for trying!  Besides, veggies are good for you!

(I must apologise again as I forgot to take pictures…doh!)

~~CHICKEN WITH ROASTED PEPPERS AND OLIVES~~

4 red bell peppers (or any other color you might have will also work)

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 onion, peeled and chopped

2 garlic cloves, peeled and finely chopped

2 X 400g (14oz) cans chopped tomatoes

1 Tbsp tomato puree/paste

4 Tbsp white wine

10 black olives, sliced in half

4 chicken breasts, boneless and skinless, cut into strips

salt and freshly ground black pepper

fresh basil leaves, for garnish

Preheat your grill/broiler.  Cut the peppers in half, deseed them, cut out the white membrane and cut the halves into 2 or 3 strips each.  Place the strips skin side up on a lightly oiled baking sheet and put under the grill for about 20-30 minutes, until blackened all over.  You may have to move them around once in awhile to get them black all over.  Transfer to a bowl and cover with plastic wrap/cling film and leave to cool.  Once cooled, peel the blackened skin off the strips and cut into large chunks. (this step can be done early in the day or even the day before and left in the fridge until ready to use)

Heat the oil in a large frying pan and fry the onion for about 5-7 minutes until translucent.  Add the garlic and fry for a further 2-3 minutes, then add the tomatoes, tomato puree, wine and olives and simmer gently (uncovered) for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  If the sauce becomes too thick, stir in a bit of water.

Stir the roasted pepper chunks into the sauce and season with salt and plenty of black pepper.

Add the chicken breast strips, submerging them into the sauce, then cover and simmer gently for about 20 minutes until the chicken is cooked through.

Scatter with the fresh basil and serve with brown rice.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Chicken w/Roast Peppers & Olives for South Beach Diet

  1. Pingback: Them chickens have bones – no really, they do - Mel Gallant

    • Hello Terri.

      A strange request perhaps – I really like your cartoon chicken and would like to use it on a document I’m preparing for teachers. Do you know who drew it? Did you draw it?

      Cheers, Anne

      • Hi Anne, No, unfortunately I’m not that talented to have drawn that! I got it off the internet. Do a search on ‘chicken cartoon images’ and then click on the link with all the images. Search through those and you’ll find it. There was no artist signature on it and I think it’s just a clip art.

        Terri

Leave a comment