Lamb Burgers w/Carrots ~ South Beach Diet

Hello Boys and Girls!

I realise I haven’t been on here much lately, but the kitchen is in full swing and I’ve been a bit busy making preserves for the market which is in less than two weeks!

However, while things are bubbling on the stove, I can run back and forth to my laptop and post a few words here and there.

Here’s a recipe from the 101 Fantastic GI Recipes I got last week.  I have to admit, so far everything I’ve made from this book has been really tasty.  I definitely give it a thumbs-up!

Here’s some burgers that can be made early in the day and kept in the fridge until ready to cook.  You can use either lean minced beef or lamb.  I also added some minced garlic because we love garlic!

Unfortunately, I had a brain fart when I made these for dinner the other night and forgot to get a picture…sorry!

~~SUPER HEALTHY BURGERS~~

4 Tbsp bulghur wheat

500g (17.5oz) lean minced beef or lamb

1 onion, peeled and grated

2 carrots, scrubbed and grated

2 garlic cloves, minced (optional)

1/2 tsp dried chilli flakes

1 tsp dried oregano

salt and freshly ground black pepper

Place the bulghur wheat in a bowl, cover with boiling water and stir once or twice.  Leave to soak for about 20 minutes or until tender.  Drain well and squeeze out excess moisture with your hands.

Thoroughly combine with remaining ingredients, using clean hands. Shape into 4 burgers (they will be big but make 5 or 6 if you want then smaller).  Chill for about 20 minutes or until needed.

Preheat the grill/broiler and cook about 10-15 minutes each side, depending on size or until cooked through.

Serve with a generous helping of fresh salad.

Enjoy!

♥♥ Terri  ♥♥

2 thoughts on “Lamb Burgers w/Carrots ~ South Beach Diet

    • I think you’ll enjoy then when you finally get to eat them! I assume you gave up meat for Lent? Don’t know where you reside, but here in the UK, lamb (and pork) are very popular and we eat both often. Before I moved here from the states, I never ate lamb…didn’t like the smell of it or the taste. Now I eat it all the time!

Leave a Reply

