Russian Tea Cakes

Photo complements of foodnetwork.com

These are probably my next favorite cookies after chocolate chips.  They’re ever so slightly crumbly, yet soft and buttery.  Another of my standard Christmas Cookie fare.  The ingredients are pretty simple:  butter, sugar, flour, salt and vanilla and nuts, and as they have no eggs, they’re good for anyone who has an allergy to eggs.

The first time I ever made these, I thought I would save time and put a few balls at a time into a container and roll them around in the powdered sugar….BIG mistake.  I ended up with a container of crumbs, so please don’t be an idiot like me.  Roll each one on its own.

You can put quite a few on the baking sheet as they do not spread while baking and only take about 10-12 minutes in the oven.  You will also need to chill the dough about 30 minutes prior to rolling therm into balls.

These are also known as Mexican Wedding Cakes and is another recipe from my Betty Crocker Cooky Book.

~~~RUSSIAN TEA CAKES~~~

1 C butter, softened

1/2 C powdered/icing sugar, sifted

1 tsp vanilla

2 1/4 C / 270g plain flour

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 C nuts, finely chopped (I use walnuts)

Powdered sugar, for rolling

Mix butter, sugar and vanilla thoroughly.  In another bowl, stir flour and salt together and blend into butter mixture.  Mix in nuts.

Chill dough about 30 minutes.

Heat oven to 400f/200c.

Roll dough in 1 inch balls (about walnut size).  Place on ungreased baking sheet.

Bake 10-12 minutes or until set but not brown.

While still warm, gently roll in powdered sugar.  When completely cool, roll in sugar again.

Store in airtight container.

Note: Do NOT use self-rising flour in this recipe.

3 thoughts on “Russian Tea Cakes

Leave a comment