Red Cabbage Slaw ~ South Beach Diet

cabbagecartoon

Happy Saturday and welcome to the weekend!

Chef P brought home a small head of red cabbage the other day and I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with it.

I had been looking through a magazine and came across a coleslaw recipe, so I thought that would be a good idea.  However, I couldn’t use the recipe I saw (not SB friendly) so had to look through my SB books to find something.

I ended up using a recipe in my low blood sugar cookbook which is based on the same principles as SB.  The recipe is applicable to Phase 2 as there are apples in it.  You could make it a Phase 1 recipe by just leaving them out.  However, I had tasted it before remembering to add the apples and it seemed to be missing something and tasted much better after I put the apples in.

I’m giving the recipe as it is written, but I used half the amounts in the dressing as the head of cabbage wasn’t very big; about the size of a softball or grapefruit.  The recipe calls for 3 Granny Smith apples, but again, I used just one apple and just a regular apple (Royal Gala) as I didn’t have any GS apples.  I think any apple will do.  I also added one grated carrot for a contrast of color and used a red onion instead of a regular onion as I find them less harsh when raw.  I also sliced the red onion really thin and used more than the recipe called for.

**RED CABBAGE SLAW**

DRESSING

½ C/4fl.oz./118ml extra virgin olive oil

3 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 Tbsp minced onion

1 tsp horseradish

1 tsp dry/powdered mustard

1 tsp celery salt

¼ tsp salt, or to taste

black pepper, to taste

VEGGIES

1 head red cabbage, shredded

3 Granny Smith apples, cored and grated

1 carrot, grated (optional)

HERE’S WHAT TO DO…

In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients for the dressing using a whisk.

If you have a mandoline slicer, it will make quick work of shredding the cabbage and you’ll be able to make nice, thin slices.  I also used it to slice the onion.

Toss the veggies around in the dressing and then add the grated apple.  Toss again to combine and add the grated carrot, if using.

Toss well.  Cover and refrigerate at least 3 hours prior to serving.  Stir occasionally.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Enjoy!

♥♥  Terri  ♥♥

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Red Cabbage Slaw ~ South Beach Diet

  1. As I stated in the post, if you leave out the apples and carrots, then yes, it’s suitable for Phase 1. However, I preferred it with the apples in, so you might want to wait and make it for Phase 2, but that’s up to you. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

