Bistro Chicken ~ SBD

Hello Campers!

I think that the Autumn winds are slowly approaching us here in southern England.  It was a bit cool this morning and I’ve actually had my jeans on today along with a light sweater.  The leaves are falling off the trees and the days are getting shorter.  Before you know it, it will be Christmas!

OK, I can hear you all groaning about that and probably giving me a few choice words for even mentioning it, but even if I didn’t, it’s still on its way…only 114 more days…ho ho ho!

Onto the subject at hand…

I took out chicken breasts for dinner tonight, not knowing what I was going to do with them.  That seems to be my dilemma just about every morning as I stare into the freezers. (No, that is not a typo…we have three freezers)  I take something out and then ponder over what I’ll do with said frozen meat or fish.

I decided to look through my own binders rather than in the SBD books just because I felt like it.  I came across a recipe that I haven’t made in some time.  It’s got only five ingredients other than the chicken and it’s simple to put together and it’s SBD friendly.  Considering I haven’t been such a good girl on my eating, this was a good thing.

You can’t go wrong with mayo, rosemary, thyme, garlic salt and lemon on chicken.  The recipe calls for the chicken to be grilled/barbecued, but I like to do it in a skillet to keep all the juices together rather than them dripping down into the coals.  If you don’t want to grill it, you could even put it under the broiler, or in the UK, under the grill.  Feel free to cook it as you wish; I think it will still come out really tasty.  You could also pound the breasts thinner if you want a shorter cooking time.

Grilled Bistro Chicken

1/2 C mayonnaise

1/2 tsp dried rosemary

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp garlic salt (or 1/4 tsp each garlic powder and salt)

juice of 1/2 a lemon

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

In a shallow bowl, mix together the mayo, herbs, garlic salt and lemon juice.

Add the chicken breasts and toss around to coat.

Leave to marinate until ready to use.

Cook on the grill, in a heated skillet or under the broiler until done, about 10 minutes each side, if thick.  If using a skillet, add a bit of olive oil to the pan first.

See, told you it was simple.

This is an older picture of this recipe, taken when I first made it about 3-4 years ago.  I’ll be serving it tonight with cabbage and rice (for Chef P) and bulgar wheat for me.

Enjoy!

  Terri  

2 thoughts on “Bistro Chicken ~ SBD

  1. That looks like a fab recipe Terri! You can never have too many chicken breast recipes. It’s a staple in our house because it’s relatively low in fat and very adaptable to most flavours and cuisines! xxoo

Leave a Reply

