Girl Scouts? No, Brownies!

Just picture it….

A brown square of gooey, fudgy, squidgy, chocolatey lusciousness and a tall glass of ice cold milk.

If I were ever to be dropped on a deserted island and asked what cake-like item I wanted to take with me, it would have to be brownies, as long as they were baked properly.

I can’t really remember if I’ve ever eaten a brownie I didn’t like, but even if I didn’t, I probably ate it anyway.  After all, this is chocolate we’re talking about here!

As I described above, brownies should be gooey and fudgy and not cakey.  If I want cakey, I’ll have cake.  Brownies should just about melt in your mouth without even chewing.  Just take a bite and hold it between your tongue and the roof of your mouth….mmmmmm.  Then wash it down with some ice cold milk.  Heaven.

Now I’m sure some of you are asking yourselves why I’m talking about brownies when I’m supposed to be a South Beach Girl.  Well, I’ll tell you!

These brownies are for selling at the Ramsgate Summer Squall at the end of the month.  I made a batch of them earlier in the week and needed to make more as I only got 12 and I’m going to need a good bit more.  I’ve got all my jarred items (jams, jellies, chutneys, etc.) but when I do a special event, I try to also have some baked goodies to go along.  I’ve got about 23 whoopie pies in the freezer along with the first batch of brownies so far.  I may make more whoopies next week.

I’ve made brownies on many occasions over the years, but this recipe is the one I’ve been using for nearly the past seven years.  I have other recipes, but don’t want to try them for fear of them not coming out as nice as these do.  Yeah, I hear some of you saying ‘but I’ve got the best brownie recipe’…well, that’s how I feel!  I have no idea where I got the recipe from as I re-typed it to stick in my cakes and cookies binder.  I do hope you try this and let me know what you think.

I don’t usually add nuts when I’m going to be selling them, especially with people having nut allergies.  It’s just safer that way.  There are two mantras you should always follow when making brownies:  Number one, do not over mix and number two, do not over bake.  You want them to be gooey inside, not cake-like.  The recipe calls for them to be baked for 25 minutes, but I bake for only 22-23 minutes and they come out all squidgy and gooey.  If you prefer your brownies to be cake-like, then by all means, bake them for the 25 minutes or even 26 or 27…just don’t serve them to me! 😉

~~~FUDGY CHOCOLATE BROWNIES~~~

Preheat oven to 350°F/180°C

Line a 9″ X 13″ baking dish with baking parchment, using a bit of butter to hold it down.  Make the paper large enough so that it hangs over the edges for ease of removing the brownies later after they’ve cooled.

1 2/3 C /340g sugar

3/4 C / 6oz / 170g butter, melted

2 Tbsp / 30ml water

2 eggs

2 tsp / 10ml vanilla extract

1 1/3 C / 160g plain flour

3/4 C / 60g unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 C chopped nuts (optional)

powdered/icing sugar (optional)

Combine sugar, melted butter and water in a large bowl.

Stir in eggs and vanilla.

Combine flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt in another bowl and then stir into sugar mixture.

Stir in nuts, if using.

Spread evenly into prepared baking dish.

Bake 25 minutes or until pick inserted in center comes out slightly sticky.

Cool completely in pan.

Sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired.

Remove by picking up paper and placing on cutting board.

Cut into squares in desired size.

Makes 12-16 brownies.

And please, do try and share them!  After all, you can always make more!
Enjoy!

♥  Terri  ♥

2 thoughts on “Girl Scouts? No, Brownies!

Leave a Reply

