Chocolate ~ Morning, Noon and Night

I’m sitting here in my crop jeans and they feel a bit tight.  Not a good thing considering they fit just fine last year…sigh.

What is wrong with me??

I was doing so well with my eating, and I’ve completely gone to pot; well maybe not completely but probably 80% to pot.  I’m eating proper meals, but it’s the in between stuff that is causing havoc…and all the baking I’ve been doing.  Most of the baking has been stuff for the market, but if I don’t sell all of it, I bring it back home and well, I can’t let it go to waste, so instead I’m letting it go to MY waist!  This is not only bad for my weight, but also my health and I know this all too well.

On Sunday, my neighbors across the street brought me a container of freshly picked strawberries.  So what’s wrong with those?  Nice fresh fruit, healthy and great tasting all by themselves.  But did I just eat them as is?  No.  I felt I had to elevate them to a higher level and make something with them.  And what did I make?  Yesterday, I made this….

Chef P took a piece to work to have with his morning coffee, I cut off a chunk to give to the neighbors, and of course, I had to test it out to make sure it was OK to eat.  Obviously, it is perfectly fine…and quite delicious.  I made the sponge cake, soaked the berries for about 3-4 hours in some sugar and a small bit of brandy, and whipped up some double cream with a small amount of sugar and a bit of pink food coloring.  I spread the first layer of cake with the soaked berries and then covered with a bit of the whipped cream, then put the next layer of sponge and the remaining soaked berries then frosted/iced and added more berries for decor.  I’m not posting the recipe because this is dead easy to do and all you need to do is make your favorite sponge cake and with the rest, you can just wing it.

So you’re probably wondering what all this has to do with the title of this post.  Well, actually nothing, but maybe a small something.

Some of you may remember a while back (Nov or Dec) that I posted about a delivery I received from the Chocolate Tasting Club.  A lovely box of fine chocolates which I would receive every 4, 8 or 12 weeks, depending on my choice…and each delivery would contain different chocolates, hence the name.  I must say the chocolates I’ve received so far have been heavenly.  I only eat one or two at a time, and usually only once a day, sometimes skipping days here and there.  They not only have these scheduled deliveries, but they also offer other delectable delights.  I don’t normally order the extra stuff because frankly, a huge box of chocolates every 8 weeks is enough.  However, I ordered this because there wasn’t much chocolate that came with it.  What I got was this…

I’ve got an apron, three packs of different chocolate slabs and this book, from Hotel Chocolat called Morning to Midnight ~ A book of chocolate recipes for the whole day and night.

It’s a rather large book and gives you chocolate recipes that could, in the words of Professor Snapes, bewitch the mind and ensnare the senses.  I was drooling just looking at the pictures.  I’ll give you just a small sampling of what’s in there…

Yes, there’s even recipes for main meals!

What a great idea, these are adorable!

All of the recipes are contributed by chefs know in the UK, whether they be celebrity chefs, or well know restaurant chefs.

The book also gives an introduction into the history of chocolate, various terms used and also the various methods used on chocolate including tempering and proper melting guides.

I’m not sure what recipe I’m going to tackle first, but you’ll find out soon enough!

No wonder my jeans are tight…….

Terri  ♥

One thought on “Chocolate ~ Morning, Noon and Night

Leave a Reply

