Mustard & Herb Baked Salmon (SBD)

I adore salmon.  I could probably eat it almost every night, but I think Chef P would get a bit upset if we had did that!

I’m always looking for SBD friendly recipes for salmon and in perusing the internet yesterday, found this.  The recipe and picture are from the EatingWell website.   I wasn’t sure if I was going to make this one or something else I may have found.  I did come across a few others, but I liked the idea of this one.

The recipe had this being cooked on the BBQ on foil but I wrapped it in foil and cooked it in the oven.  I like wrapping the fish because it retains the moisture…there’s nothing worse than dried out fish! The fish sits on a bed of fresh herbs and sliced lemon, covered with a coating of mustard and chopped herbs.

I also meant to take a photo, but alas, stupid me completely forgot, so that is why I’m using the picture from the website itself.  Below is the actual title of the recipe, but I didn’t grill it, hence my name for it.

The fish comes out really moist and I loved the mixture of flavors from the fresh herbs.  I used fresh dill, thyme and parsley.  I used dried in the mustard mixture with thyme, tarragon and dill and parsley as it was just easier.

You can serve this with extra lemon wedges, but I think the fact that the fish is cooked on the lemons gives it enough flavor without having to squeeze more onto it.

 

 

~~GRILLED SALMON with MUSTARD & HERBS~~

Serves 2 but easily doubled ** Oven temp 190°C/375°F ** Cook time 12-15 minutes

1 lemon, sliced

10-15 sprigs fresh herbs (remove hard stems)

1 large clove garlic, crushed

1 Tbsp chopped herbs (or use dried)

1 Tbsp Dijon mustard

2 salmon fillets

1/4 C white wine (optional)

 

Preheat oven to 190°C/375°F.

Fold a piece of foil about 30 inches/76cm in half.  Place it on your baking tray and open it up.  Arrange the lemon slices on the foil and spread the fresh herbs over the lemon.

Mash the garlic with a little salt using the flat edge of a knife until it forms a paste.  Transfer to a small bowl with the Dijon and chopped herbs and mix.  Spread the mixture evenly over the fillets, then lay the fish over the herbs and lemon.  Add the white wine should you desire. (I like to have a little liquor to pour over the fish when serving)

Fold the top half of the foil down and crimp the edges to form a tight seal.

Place into the preheated oven and bake for 12-15 minutes, depending on the size of the fillets.

Carefully open the foil (beware of steam) and serve, discarding the fresh herbs and lemons. (although adding a bit of each to the plate won’t hurt!)

Enjoy!

♥ Terri  ♥♥

 

5 thoughts on “Mustard & Herb Baked Salmon (SBD)

Leave a Reply

