Whole Wheat Pancakes

Breakfast, the most important meal of the day.  Sometimes it’s a struggle trying to decide what I want to should eat.  Usually I’ll make myself a nice warming bowl of porridge or maybe a veggie filled frittata or even a smoothie. However, every now and then, I want something different, something that I really shouldn’t eat, and today was one of those days.

I wanted pancakes.  Proper pancakes.  Not the crepes that they call pancakes here, but proper, fluffy, hearty American pancakes!

Now I had a choice; do I make then with all the ingredients I shouldn’t really have (white flour, butter and sugar) or do I attempt to make them a bit healthy (whole wheat flour, low fat margarine and fruit sugar/fructose)?  I went with the latter.  Do I get a gold star for that?

Pancakes are really easy to make and it’s 99.9% guaranteed that you have these ingredients in your kitchen cupboard at any time.  I mean really now, who doesn’t have eggs, milk, butter, flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in their kitchens??

I’ll give you the white flour recipe and the whole wheat flour recipe…the choice is yours on which ingredients you use, but the method is the same.

The most important thing when making pancakes is that you want your pan to be hot right from the get go.  If the pan isn’t hot enough from the beginning, the batter will stick.  If you have a cast iron fry pan, all the better.

~~AMERICAN PANCAKES~~

Before you even start getting the ingredients together, get that pan on the stove and get it heating up.

(healthy)                                                      (not so healthy)

1 egg                                                            1 egg

3/4 C low-fat milk                                           3/4 C whole milk

2 Tbsp low-fat margarine, melted                    2 Tbsp butter, melted

1 C whole wheat flour                                     1 C white flour

1 Tbsp fructose/fruit sugar                              1 Tbsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt                                                    1/2 tsp salt

1 Tbsp baking powder                                    1 Tbsp baking powder

 

Combine the egg, milk and fat and whisk.  If you have an electric mixer, use that to make it more fluffy.  Mix the dry ingredients together and add to the wet ingredients and blend together.  (I like to mix everything together in a 2-Cup Pyrex measuring jug)

Pour the mixture (or use a ladle) into the HOT dry pan in the size of pancake you wish.  It may be easier to make one at a time unless you plan on making silver-dollar pancakes, then you’ll be able to make 2-3 at a time, depending on the size of your pan.

Leave undisturbed for 1-2 minutes or until you start to see bubbles forming on the surface.  Gently lift the pancake with a metal spatula and flip over.  Again leave for 1-2 minutes or until you see the pancake really starting to fluff up.  Remove to a warm dish and continue with the remaining pancakes.

To the batter you can add sliced fruit such as bananas or strawberries or even blueberries. Or try chopped nuts such as walnuts or pecans or perhaps chocolate chips. (I added walnuts and topped with more walnuts and raisins).

The traditional ‘serve with’ items are butter and maple syrup but that is your choice.  I had mine with a bit of maple syrup only.

 

 

Enjoy!

♥ Terri  ♥♥

8 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Pancakes

  1. Can you please delete one of my comments? I replied in my comment feed screen and the comment seemed to disappear, so I re-wrote it. However, I can see both came through.

  2. I love pancakes, but American pancakes are not pancakes… they are a sort of small, thick, sweet, wet, sticky sort of failed breads.

    THIS is pancakes*:

    1 litre of wheat flour
    1 teaspoon of salt
    2 teaspoons of sugar
    2 teaspoons of cardamom
    6 eggs
    8 decilitre of milk
    2 decilitre of beer**
    6 teaspoons of oil

    1. Mix all the wet ingredients in big bowl, except oil

    2. Mix all the dry ingredients in another bowl

    3. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, gradually, while stirring to make the dough smooth and nice. Then add oil and stir again.

    4. Cover and keep cold for half an hour (e.g. in the fridge)

    5. Cook on relatively high heat. Put just a thin layer on the pan each time to make the pancakes deliciously floppy and crunchy in the edges

    6. Serve with jam, lemon, sugar, cream or ice cream.

    Y. Eat with the family – Yum!!!

     
    *Good old Danish recipe. Only Scandinavians know how to make real pancakes

    **If not beer, then just 1 litre of milk. Still taste great,

    • Every country has their own version of pancakes. Pancakes here in the UK are what we call crepes in the US. I don’t know what pancakes are like in Australia or Scandinavia either. It all depends on what you’ve grown up with in your own culture, doesn’t mean it isn’t a pancake.

      American pancakes are thick, but they are not small (unless you make them that way), wet, sweet or sticky by themselves. It is the other ingredients that you add to them; usually butter and syrup. I’m sure that adding jam, sugar, lemon, cream or ice cream would do the same thing, regardless what country the pancakes came from. 🙂

      • Scandinavian pancakes are similar to what you call crepes. Crepes is French, but I think French pancakes are similar to other European pancakes anyway.

        When I’ve had American pancakes they were thick, had smaller diameter than normal pancakes, and were sweeter and fatter in themselves, not just from jam and sugar.

        I don’t think there exist Australian pancakes as such, Aussie culture is very composite (like American culture) and I think people make the kind of pancakes that their immigrant ancestors/parents made.

        Of course I know that what is REAL pancakes depends on the culture and family one grew up in.. REAL pancakes are the ones from one’s childhood.

        I am very good with pancakes… so I got provoked to see them named something else, and American pancakes promoted to real pancakes instead:-)

  3. I do try to pick healthier options, but I still have my downfalls on occasion, but then I pay for it later! I’m a bit older than you, more than twice your age actually and I’ve found that as I’ve gotten older, you just can’t eat some of the things that you used to. You’ll understand one day! 😉

  4. Pingback: How to make Spaghetti with Spicy Tomato Sauce | APNA JAHANIAN | Web Development, Graphic Design, Pc Troubleshoot, IT Portal

Leave a Reply

