Bits and Bobs and Nuts and Bolts

Happy Wednesday All!

It’s a gorgeous day here in the SE of England as the sun is shining brightly!  We finally ‘Sprung Ahead’ this weekend with the clocks and now it’s still somewhat light at 8:00…woo hoo!

We took Buddy to the vet on Friday for his booster shot.  He wasn’t too happy about being there again, but he did OK, although the vet had a bit of a problem with trying to check his ears; he wanted no part of that!  We think he had a bit of a reaction to this shot because the next morning he was rather listless and subdued.  He was much better by Sunday morning.

**********************

The weather was absolutely lovely on Saturday so we were expecting the same on Sunday for the first market of the season…WRONG!  It was cloudy, foggy, misty and cold and a bit breezy.  It was as if it was saying to me, ‘Terri, this is what you get for not being here at the market all year like the rest of the vendors so you will be punished’.  All in all, there was a good crowd out and about and even a few of my regular customers came by who were all glad to see me back at the market.

**********************

My mum-in-law’s birthday was on Monday and the woman that cleans for her, brought her a lovely cake last Friday that she had made.  It was a vanilla sponge with strawberries and cream and she had it nicely decorated.  Kind of reminded me of a strawberry shortcake.  Well mum insisted asked us to take a bit of it home as she knew she wouldn’t be able to eat the whole thing all by herself.  So of course I had to take some, after all I didn’t want to disappoint the woman!  Now, I know it’s something I shouldn’t eat, but I did.  AND IT WAS SOOOOO GOOD!!  I did just eat a few spoonfuls at a time rather than eating a whole piece. (I cut the cake in half, then cut the half in half and then cut the quarter in two and took those two pieces home) We got this on Saturday and I just finished it today, so I don’t think that was too bad.

Hubby won’t be home tonight as there is an awards ceremony for his job and he’s gotten three awards so he has to be there to accept them.  Apparently it’s a rather long ceremony and it will be rather late by the time it’s all over so he’s staying at a colleague’s house overnight.  So as it’s just me tonight, I can be a bit relaxed about when I have my dinner.  I made lamb burgers for dinner last night and I still have one left over, so I’ll be having that again tonight.  I have no problem with leftovers.  I might even have a martini…

**********************

 

And in the news:  Royal Mail will be upping it’s already high price of a first class stamp from 46p to a whopping 60p!  A second class stamp will go from thecurrent 36p to 50p, both effective at the end of April.  According to a Royal Mail spokesman, the price rises are ‘really needed, given our financial position’.  The only good thing about this is that stamps do not have the actual price on them, but only say 1st or 2nd class.  This means that we can buy all the stamps we want now at the current price and still use them once the price goes up and there’s no limit on how many you can buy.  I heard on the radio today that someone has bought about 4,000 stamps…that should hold them for awhile….

**********************

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Try eating strong-smelling foods such as garlic, if you’re watching your weight.  Dutch scientists found strong smells tell our brains to take smaller bites – up to 10% smaller.  It’s possibly an evolutionary process that stopped cavemen taking large bites of rotten foods.

Enjoy the rest of your day!

♥♥ Terri  ♥♥

2 thoughts on “Bits and Bobs and Nuts and Bolts

  1. I wish we had an outdoor market here Terri. Just an indoor one, which has gone way down in recent years. I used to love going to it, but now not so much. It’s turned quite cold here today! brrr…a reminder that it is still too early to put away the woolies just yet! Love your berry background, very pretty! The cake sounds fabulous! Oh, I do love cake. Wish I didn’t as it is my downfall! Oh, that and chocolate. Hmmmm … chocolate cake. Now look … you have me craving chocolate cake! xxoo

Leave a Reply

