Tarragon and Mayo and Egg, on Rye!

It’s International Women’s Day….Celebrate the women in your life!

*************************

Hello Campers!

Well we’ve finally got a beautiful sunny day here today considering we’ve had biblical proportions of rain and wind over the last three days.  It makes for a nice change.

I ordered more books from my favorite bookshop, The Book People on Monday and yesterday I received the order (they’re great with delivery time!) and one of the books I ordered is 101 Fantastic GI Recipes by Fiona Hunter.  Since the South Beach Diet is based on eating lower GI foods, I figured this would be perfect, especially since I’m always looking for new recipes that will fit in with SBD.

It’s not so much a book as it’s a pack of plastic coated cards that are bound in the corner by a silver bolt, so the pages fan out.  Each recipe also gives totals for calories, fat, saturated fat, carbs, salt and fibre.

The recipe I had for lunch today was Egg and Tarragon Mayo on Rye and serves 4, but I cut it down for just me.  It’s easily adjustable depending on the number of servings.

~~EGG AND TARRAGON MAYO ON RYE~~

Serves 1

2 eggs, hard-boiled and peeled

1 spring onion/scallion/green onion, finely sliced

2 tsp reduced fat mayo (I used full fat mayo because that’s what I have)

2 tsp low fat plain yogurt (I used fat-free because…that’s what I have)

2 tsp chopped fresh tarragon (I used 1 tsp dried)

salt and freshly ground black pepper

2 slices rye bread or pumpernickel or any other whole grain bread

tomato salad, to serve*

Roughly chop the eggs.  Place in a bowl with the spring onions, mayo, yogurt and tarragon.  Season with a little salt and plenty of black pepper. Fold together gently to combine.

Serve piled on slices of bread and serve with a fresh tomato salad.

*For the tomato salad, I chopped a tomato and mixed with a drizzle of EV olive oil, a little balsamic vinegar, some fresh basil, salt and pepper and piled into a leaf of lettuce.

2 thoughts on “Tarragon and Mayo and Egg, on Rye!

    • Well if you try it, I hope you enjoy it! I love egg salad but haven’t made it in quite awhile so this was a real treat for me. The spring onion gave it a nice little crunch; a nice contrast to the soft egg.

Leave a Reply

