Quinoa ~ It’s what’s for Breakfast!

Quinoa (keen-wah) is a grain-like crop grown primarily for its edible seeds. (Read more here)

Lately, I’ve been seeing recipes for making quinoa for breakfast.  I do have some in the cupboard and I’ve cooked it up as a side dish for dinner in place of rice a few times.  Unfortunately, I’m still not sure if I really like it.

So to try and acquire a proper taste for it, I’m trying it for breakfast.  It is also a food that is allowed to be used on SBD in Phase 2.

The ratio for cooking quinoa is usually 1 part quinoa to 2 parts water or milk or a mixture.  When I made this, I needed to add a bit more water so your mileage may vary. (I used 1/3 C quinoa to 2/3 c liquid)

I used dried fruits such as raisins, sultanas, apricots, cranberries and currants, about 1-2 tsp of each.  It’s not necessary to measure these precisely, just use according to your taste.  I also added some slivered almonds and walnuts and used a mixture of soya milk and water.  I threw all the fruits and nuts into the pot with the liquid, brought it up to a high simmer and added the quinoa and let it simmer about 15 minutes.  It needed more time and more liquid.

After it was finally cooked, I added some sweetener (agave nectar) and milk (the same as I do for porridge).  It wasn’t so bad after the first spoonful, but I felt that I needed to add a small pinch of salt which did help by giving it a little nudge.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t until I was taking the last bite that I realized I forgot to take a picture!  Oops, sorry!

If you haven’t tried quinoa in this way or any way for that matter, give it go and enjoy!

 

♥♥ Terri ♥♥

One thought on “Quinoa ~ It’s what’s for Breakfast!

  1. nice to see Quinoa getting a post, a great source of protein and under-used IMO.
    I used to cook it in orange juice as a garnish for a salmon starter in the restaurant which seemed to go down well

Leave a Reply

