Shrimp and Pasta and Veggies, Oh My!

“I am not a shrimp, I am a king prawn!” ~ Pepe the Prawn in Muppets from Space

Shrimp, prawns….whatever you call them, I’ll eat them!  Most of the time I’ll just marinate them in some olive oil, garlic and herbs and saute them in a pan.  This past Friday night, I wanted to do something different so I perused my cookbooks and binders and came across this recipe that I made up a few years back and it tasted pretty good.  I think the last time I made this was about 3 years ago.  Don’t ask me why I haven’t made it since; I just haven’t.

I always use uncooked shrimp because I think they taste better and I’d rather cook them myself.  I can’t seem to find uncooked fresh shrimp over here, so we buy them at the fishmonger, uncooked and frozen and they’re already de-veined and just the tail is attached but that’s easy to remove.

You can adjust the amounts of veggies, pasta and shrimp according to the number of servings you need as I think it’s a pretty flexible recipe.  Feel free to even add some other veggies of your choice to what’s already listed.  I added a chopped leek to it this time and used black olives instead of green.  I also didn’t have any double cream so used some low fat sour cream…it worked just fine.

The chili flakes give it just a hint of heat, but leave it out if you don’t want it…or increase the amount if you like it HOT!  Don’t let the long list of ingredients put you off.  Get everything prepared first and then it’s really easy to put together.

~~SHRIMP AND VEGGIES ITALIANO w/PASTA~~

Serves 3-4

3 tbsp olive oil

2 onions, chopped

2 bell peppers, roughly chopped (any color will do)

5-6 large mushrooms, sliced

3-4 garlic cloves, minced

2 tomatoes, roughly chopped

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp basil

1/4 tsp chili pepper flakes

salt and pepper, to taste

3/4 C white wine

1 lb shrimp, uncooked, peeled and de-veined

10 green or black olives, pits removed, sliced in half

1 tbsp lemon juice

lemon zest from half a lemon

3 tbsp double/heavy cream or sour cream

1 lb pasta, cooked

Heat the oil in a large heavy skillet and brown onions and peppers for 6-8 minutes.  Add mushrooms and garlic and cook for another 6-8 minutes.

Stir in tomatoes, oregano, basil and chili flakes.  Season with salt and pepper.  Continue cooking until veggies are just about tender, about 5-10 minutes.

Add the wine, shrimp, olives, lemon juice and zest.  Cook until shrimp has turned pink and opaque, about 3-4 minutes.  Add cream and stir.

Serve over hot pasta.

Enjoy!

♥♥ Terri ♥♥

One thought on “Shrimp and Pasta and Veggies, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

