Ice Cream on The Beach

Ah yes, ice cream on the beach!  But not the ice cream or the beach as you know it.  I’m talkin’ South Beach, you know, that wonderful food plan I’m always yacking about.

Earlier today, I was perusing the South Beach Diet Message Boards not looking for anything in particular and got stuck into the recipes forum.  I’m always looking for some new things to try, mainly dessert type things, so when I stumbled across a recipe for ice cream with one ingredient, I was intrigued.And what was this one ingredient?

Yes, the humble banana.  They had photos of the banana ‘ice cream’ and I have to say it looked pretty darn good.  The method in making it seemed pretty simple and as I had a few bananas in the fruit bowl, I thought I’d give it a shot.  It said you could also add some peanut butter for additional flavor so I decided to add that along with a bit of cocoa powder.  Bananas, peanut butter and chocolate; what’s not to like?

The first thing to do is get yourself some bananas.  You want bananas that are really ripe as they will be sweeter.  Peel the bananas (I had three, so used all of them), then cut into thick slices and place on a baking tray (I lined mine with a silicone sheet to avoid stickage) and place in the freezer for 1-2 hours.

Place the frozen slices into your food processor and pulse a few times.

You’ll need to scrape it down a few times until it starts to get to the creamy stage, but once it does it’s amazing!

I added about 2 tbsp. peanut butter (my homemade – no sugar) and about 2 tsp. cocoa powder and then continued to blend.  The consistency and flavor were spot on and if you didn’t know it was bananas, you would think it’s ice cream.

I popped it into a plastic container and put it in the freezer to have later after dinner because I wanted to eat the whole lot right then and there!

I think you could add other ingredients such as nuts or chocolate chips (sparingly) and this would be great even if you’re not following SB. It would also be great for those who are lactose intolerant.

Give this a try.  I promise you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

