Ooh, Chocolate!

Well I hope that everyone enjoyed their Christmas holidays over the past few days; now we just have to get through New Year’s and things can get back to normal…whew!

I feel like I have so much to share with you and don’t know where to start.

Back in October, while sorting out the ads in the newspapers, I came across an ad from the Chocolate Tasting Club.  You could order a box of chocolates (dark, milk, with alcohol or without) plus you would get a small box of tasting batons all for the grand price of £9.95, which you wouldn’t have to send in until after the chocolates arrived. If you wished to continue, you would get another box every 4, 8 or 12 weeks (your choice) at a cost of £18.95.  I sent in the card with the required info and waited for my chocolates, which were supposed to arrive within 10 days.

Well the 10 days came and went and no sign of my chocolates.  Another 2-3 weeks went by and still no sign.  I assumed my order went amiss in the wonderful Royal Mail system and just figured I wouldn’t be getting them…oh well.  Then in mid November, I received a letter from the company stating that due to a high volume of orders, my order would not be sent out until early December.  Yay!  My order didn’t go missing and now had to wait patiently again for them to arrive.  They finally arrived around mid December. 🙂

Inside was the box of chocolates, the tasting kit (batons ranging from a light caramel to an intense dark), information about the club and a listing of all the chocolates with a chance to rate each one.  I couldn’t wait to see what was inside the main box!  I selected the dark chocolates w/alcohol as my preference.

The smell of chocolate wafted from the box upon opening and in looking at the listing, I didn’t know which one to try first!  As of today, I think I have only one left of each flavor!  I keep the box out in the conservatory so that it’s out of sight, out of mind and only take one if I happen to go out there to get something from the other fridge.  Obviously I’ve had to get a few things from the fridge over the past couple of weeks!

In the listing, each chocolate had little wine glasses next to them to indicate the amount of alcohol in each one; two full glasses indicated a high concentration of booze, an empty glass with a line meant alcohol-free.

In tasting what I have so far, I haven’t found one that I didn’t like!  Come to think about it, I’ve never met a chocolate I didn’t like!

So as I will be trying to get back on the diet wagon again after next week, I’ve decided to continue getting the chocolates, but I’ll get them every 12 weeks.  I’ve also decided that the next box will either go to my mother-in-law as a birthday present or I’ll send it to my mother for Mother’s Day, depending on when it arrives.

I’ll tell you about the box of foods we received from my brother and sis-in-law in my next post.  It was filled with herbs, artichokes, exotic mushrooms, clementines, lemons…..all from Italy!

Until next time….

Ciao!

2 thoughts on “Ooh, Chocolate!

  1. I love Hotel Chocolate chocolates! I sometimes treat myself when I go in to Chester. You can get small taster packs. Expensive yes, worth every penny, yes!! Looking forward to your post about the box of food from your brother! Sounds scrummy already!

Leave a Reply

