Salmon Cakes

We don’t normally have fish two nights in a row, but it’s what I took out of the freezer this morning.  I’m using the meat from the salmon we got a couple of weeks ago.  After cutting it up into fillets, I boil the rest of it (head, bones, tail, etc.) and then pick out the meat and freeze it to use for fish cakes.

Even though this is a recipe I’ve made a few times, when I just put the cakes together, I realized I didn’t read the recipe through like I should have because I forgot that I was supposed to saute the onions and celery BEFORE mixing with the other ingredients, so I’ve put raw shallots (in lieu of onions) and celery in the mix.  Hopefully they will soften a bit when I cook the cakes.

I like this recipe because it doesn’t contain any potatoes although it does have some cracker crumbs.  When I eat a fish cake, that’s what I want; not a fish and potato cake.  Many of the recipes I see for fish cakes seem to have more potato than fish!  This recipe also fits in to the South Beach Diet (Phase 2) if you use whole wheat crackers.

~~SAVORY SALMON CAKES~~

Serves 4 – Chill time 20 minutes or until needed

2 tsp olive oil

1 small onion, finely chopped OR 1 shallot, finely chopped

1 stalk celery, finely chopped

1/2 C crackers, crushed (saltines, cream crackers, whole wheat crackers, whatever you wish to use)

1 Tbsp Dijon mustard

14oz/400g cooked salmon, canned or fresh, skinless and boneless

1 egg

2 Tbsp mayonnaise

1/2 tsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

3-4 dashes Tabasco sauce or to taste

freshly ground black pepper

1/4 C crackers, crushed, for coating

1 Tbsp olive oil

Tartar Sauce, to serve

Heat 2 tsp olive oil in large skillet over medium heat.  Add onion and celery and saute 4 minutes or until tender.

Combine onion mixture in bowl with crackers, mustard, salmon, egg, mayo, lemon juice, sauces and black pepper and combine well.

Divide and shape into 4 large or 8 small patties.  Coat with crackers, place on plate, cover and chill 20 minutes or until needed.

Heat oil in skillet.  Cook patties 6 minutes each side for large patties; 5 minutes each side for small patties until lightly golden and crisp.

Serve with tartar sauce.

 

Leave a Reply

