An Apple a Day…

Well here it is, Monday and I’ve not been feeling too well since about Saturday afternoon, hence my lack of posting.  I seem to have the basic cold, stuffy nose, scratchy throat thing along with that other pain that only the ladies will understand….aarrgh.  When it rains, it pours…sigh.

It’s also your typical Autumnal weather…cold, damp and windy which doesn’t help when you don’t feel all yourself.  I really should have made some warming chicken soup for tonight, but forgot to get the chicken out of the freezer early enough this morning, so instead took out the last of our salmon fillets.

Considering how I feel, I was also in the mood for something cakey/chocolate/fudgy/baked/muffin-like after I managed to make raspberry jelly this morning.  The only problem is that it was already 2:00 and I don’t usually like making stuff so late in the day; I prefer to make and bake in the mid to late morning so that I’m done by 2:00, not starting.  I glanced through some of my cookbooks for something easy to put together.  My heart was willing but the body and mind said ‘no dice’.  I just really wasn’t in the mood, no matter how much I was craving it.

Instead, I decided on something rather simple and actually healthier than having the cakey/chocolate, etc. thing.  I decided to make a baked apple.  I have plenty of Bramley apples in the fridge to use for preserves, so using one wasn’t going to hurt.  Once it’s done cooking, it’s warm, soft and sweet with nuts and raisins for added texture and just oozes Autumn.  It doesn’t take long to put together and only about 20 minutes in the oven.

Never made a baked apple?

It’s easy as pie; well, actually, easier than pie!  No measurements necessary.  What do you need?

One apple per person.  Feel free to use whatever apples you have on hand, but cooking apples work best.

You will also need any or all of the following, depending on your tastes.

pecans

walnuts

raisins

cinnamon

nutmeg

brown sugar

honey

apple cider

Preheat the oven to 190c/375f.

Wash and scrub the apple.  You want to then core the apple from the top, but don’t go all the way through.  Scoop out the core so that you still have the bottom of the apple intact.  Make sure to remove all the pits.

Mix together any of the ingredients above except the honey or apple cider and stuff the mixture into the cavity of the apple.  Drizzle some honey over the apple and add a bit of the cider to the bottom of the baking dish.  If you don’t have cider, just use water.

Bake for about 20 minutes until apple is soft and tender.

Remove from oven and allow to cool down a bit.  Eat warm or at room temp.

Bliss!

Leave a Reply

