MADE IN THE USA – American Products in the UK

In preparation of the Christmas Fair, I needed to go shopping yesterday to locate a few items for packaging my gift sets and also for some cutesy Christmasy stuff for the table, so I hit the Pound store and also Hobbycraft.

I also thought I would take a stroll into TK Maxx (the UK version of TJ Maxx) and what to my wandering eyes should appear?  Bottles of A1 SAUCE!  Now those of you in the States might think, ‘yeah, so what?’ but when you’re unable to get that here, you would jump at the chance.

At least until you saw the price.

With a smile on my face and a gleam in my eye, I picked up a bottle and flipped it over to check the price.  The smile turned to a frown and the gleam went dark.  The price?  £4.99…yes, £4.99.  With the exchange rate that means about $7.50 for your average size bottle of A1.  I don’t remember the price of a bottle of A1 nor do I know what it is now, but I can almost be certain it isn’t $7.50.  Needless to say, I put the bottle down and walked away, sighing.

Further down the shelving, I spotted some more American products…Hershey’s Syrup, Hershey’s Cocoa Powder, Jif Peanut Butter, Marshmallow Fluff, Reese’s Chocolate Shell for Ice Cream and a BBQ sauce that I don’t remember the name of.  Again, there was a gleam and a smile, but I was prepared this time.

I picked up the cocoa powder…I laughed out loud because I couldn’t believe the sticker said £5.99.  At that price, the A1 was a bargain!

The Jif was the cheapest at £4.59 and the syrup was £4.99.  I didn’t even bother picking up the Fluff.  Each item I picked up, I shook my head and said (out loud) ‘I can’t believe the prices on these!’  I didn’t see anyone looking at me strangely, so it wasn’t that loud that they could hear me.

I returned home without some of my favorite American products.  Granted, I can buy cocoa powder and BBQ sauce here when I need to and peanut butter, well I make my own anyway.  I haven’t had Reese’s Shell or Fluff in ages and it’s not something I would be buying now anyway since I watch my sugar intake.  However, chocolate syrup is virtually impossible to find here.  You can get chocolate drink powder, but it’s not Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup.  I must admit, even though I’m over 29 (WELL over) I still enjoy a glass of chocolate milk every now and then.

Always have and always will.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you wish to comment, please click on ‘Leave a Comment’ at the the top of the post…Thanks!

Leave a Reply

