Raspberry Muffins (SBD friendly)

RASPBERRY MUFFINS

Mmmm….raspberries.  Probably my most favorite fruit with a close following of strawberries and peaches and bananas and pineapples and mango and…oh sorry…got carried away there!

Chef P (aka hubby) brought home about a kilo of fresh raspberries yesterday…what a sweetie.  Now what was I to do with them?  I know, I know, I could make raspberry jam or preserves or something along that line, but I was wanting something for me, not something I was going to make and sell.

So this morning, I was perusing (there’s that word again!) through my umteen cookbooks and came across a simple recipe for blueberry muffins.  I figured I could replace the blueberries with the raspberries.  But then, I did my usual thing of replacing several of the other ingredients with more South Beach friendly ingredients….used whole wheat flour in place of the plain flour, soya spread for the butter, agave nectar instead of sugar and soya milk instead of full-fat milk.  Mission accomplished.

I made half the recipe as I didn’t want to have so many of these muffins around because I knew I would want to eat them all!  I also used more than half of the raspberries called for because I really wanted them loaded with fruit.  I ended up with eight muffins instead of six due to this.

The recipe suggests that you could also use blackcurrants, blackberries or strawberries and you could also throw in some chopped nuts as well.

I have to admit, even with the replacement ingredients these came out really delicious…I can’t imagine how even more delicious they would be using the original ingredients!

Cook’s Confession….

I made these this morning at around 8:00 am….it’s now 3:30 pm and I’ve eaten three of them already!  Bad girl! (Now you know why I made only half a batch!)

~~RASPBERRY MUFFINS~~

250g/9oz plain flour OR whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

120g/4 1/4oz unsalted butter, melted OR soya spread OR trans-fat free spread

120g/4 1/4oz caster sugar OR 1/3 C agave nectar

2 eggs

100ml/4oz full-fat milk OR soya milk

finely grated zest and juice of 1 lemon

180g/6 1/2oz raspberries

Preheat oven to 190c/375f.  Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper cases.

Sift the first four ingredients (flour through baking soda) together.

In another bowl, beat together the remaining ingredients except the berries.  Gently fold in the flour mixture using a spatula, then fold in the berries; don’t over mix.

Spoon the mixture evenly into the muffin cases and bake for 16 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of a muffin comes out clean.

Transfer to a wire rack to cool.  The muffins are best eaten the same day – ideally still slightly warm from the oven. Any that are left over can be stored in an airtight container once they are completely cool and eaten the next day.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Raspberry Muffins (SBD friendly)

    • I can’t see why you couldn’t use frozen. You could use just about any berries you like in these. The recipe actually called for blueberries. I’ll have to make another batch as they’re all gone now!

Leave a Reply

