Carrot and Bran Muffins (SBD friendly)

Ah, Sunday afternoon; a day of rest and thoughts turn to baking.  Unfortunately for me, not the kind of baking I’d really like to do, you know with me trying to eat better and all that stuff.

What I’d really like to bake is some nice chocolate cupcakes with icing or a peach pie with some vanilla ice cream on the side.  But alas, those things are now a distant memory.  I’m not saying I’ll never eat those kinds of things again, but I can’t be having a whole batch of chocolate cupcakes or a whole peach pie in the house…I’d want to eat it all at once!  And as hubby doesn’t really eat cakes or pies except on very rare occasions, it would just be me eating this stuff.  Not a good thing.

So instead, I looked for something healthy to bake; something that will work with the South Beach Diet.

I found this recipe back in the winter in the weekend section of the newspaper.  It’s got all good things in it (carrots, apples, eggs, wholewheat flour and bran) and a very small amount of some not so good things (brown sugar).  With the amount of brown sugar used, it comes out to about 1/2 tsp per muffin.  And as usual, I tweeked it a bit to still work with SBD.  Because of the brown sugar, it’s more suited to Phase 3.

I decided to use soya milk in place of the buttermilk.  I have soya milk in the house and it’s good for ‘ladies of my age’ and besides I didn’t have any buttermilk, didn’t feel like going to the store to get any and didn’t feel like making my own (1 tbsp vinegar or lemon juice to 1 Cup milk), so decided to use the soya milk.  I also added about 2 tbsp raisins and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon.

They’re not very sweet and the ginger flavor really comes through, almost a bit too strong for me.  I think I prefer my ginger cooked into foods like in curries and casseroles.  I’ve never really liked sweet things with ginger in them such as gingerbread men or gingersnap cookies.  Feel free to adjust the spices to your liking.

~~CARROT AND BRAN MUFFINS~~

1 dessert apple, cored and grated (no need to peel)

1 carrot, peeled and grated

30g/2 tbsp soft brown sugar

2 eggs, beaten

250ml/9oz buttermilk or soya milk

2 tbsp raisins (optional)

200g/7oz whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (optional)

50g/1 3/4 oz wheat bran

Preheat oven to 210c/410f.  Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper cases or silicone cases.

Put the grated apple and carrot into a large bowl along with the brown sugar, eggs, buttermilk and raisins, if using and mix thoroughly.

In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, ginger and cinnamon, if using.

Sieve these into the egg mixture (adding the wholewheat bits that don’t pass through the       sieve).

Add the wheat bran and mix until just combined.

Spoon the mixture evenly into the muffin cups and bake for about 20 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.  Remove muffins from tin and allow to cool on wire rack.

The recipe suggests serving with a smoothie for a healthy breakfast.  I found they tasted good with a bit of light cream cheese.  Next time I make these I will probably use less ginger and add a bit of agave nectar just to bring the sweetness up a bit.

If you make these, please let me know your thoughts.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

