Faux Meat

FAUX MEAT

I am obviously not a vegetarian, but I do love my veggies.  Also, in trying to eat better, I’ve tried some of the vegetarian ‘meats’ available.  One of them is sausage from the company called Quorn and as my niece Emily, the writer of  Road Raging Foodie just posted about this, I thought I would expand on it a bit as I commented on her post.

What I didn’t know about Quorn products was that they have mainly been available here in the UK but have just recently become popular in the US.  There is a town named Quorn here in the UK in Leicestershire near Leicester (pronounced Lester).

Quorn is made from mycoprotein.  Mycoprotein is the main ingredient in all Quorn products. It’s made from a member of the fungi family (like mushrooms and truffles) and is a high-quality meat-free protein that’s naturally low in fat, with very few calories. It’s high in dietary fibre (important for your digestive system) and has the essential amino acids your body needs, with no cholesterol or trans fats at all.
This means that Quorn ingredients and meals tend to be lower in saturated fats and calories than similar foods made with meat – as well as being delicious! Their expert chefs really know how to get the best out of mycoprotein, allowing them to create a  wide range of ready meals, grills, sausages, burgers and deli slices, as well as cooking ingredients like mince, strips and pieces.

I have tried the sausages and the meat patties, but haven’t tried the chicken style yet.  My niece gave the chicken a decent review, so I just may have to try those.  I like to cook the sausages by letting them defrost a bit, then cutting them into slices and sauteing them with some mushrooms, garlic, tomatoes and tomato sauce to put over pasta.  I add a bit of the pasta water to the mix while it’s cooking.

I just may have to go to the store tomorrow and look for the ‘chicken’.

If you’re trying to watch your meat intake, then give these a try, you’ve got nothing to lose!

Have you tried Quorn products?  If so, let me know your thoughts and which flavors you like the best.  How do you cook yours?

2 thoughts on “Faux Meat

  1. As a die hard vegetarian of nearly 20yrs I can tell you I have eaten almost everything in the quorn range. The chicken fillets are fantastic but the garlic and herb crusted chicken fillets are the ones to look for. I recently found too that in different countries they change the range, so here in Sweden they have swedish meatballs and pytt i panna (a traditional hash dish). I do miss my veggie rashers, they are unavailable here.

    • Hi Dee Bee!
      Thanks for your input. I just purchased the chicken pieces today but haven’t tried them yet. According to you and my niece, the chicken is pretty good so I’m looking forward to having them, probably during the week. I’m mainly eating the faux meat for health reasons as opposed to being a veggie. My cholesterol is too high, so I figured every little bit helps. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

