Pumpkin Walnut Bread

PUMPKIN WALNUT BREAD

Good day!

As it’s nearly Halloween, I thought I’d post this holiday-appropriate bread.  This recipe was in one of the magazines that came with the newspaper this past weekend and is credited to TV celebrity chef Gino D’Campo.

I made smaller versions of this by using four small loaf tins as I’ll be selling them at the market at the end of the month.  I’ve frozen them so they keep and should be just as fresh for the market as they are today.  If they don’t seem right when I take them from the freezer, then you won’t see them at my stall!

What does Gino say about this savory bread?

Whenever he has a cheese platter, this bread is an option alongside crackers and that you won’t be disappointed.  It’s tasty served with any cheese but his choice is a taleggio.  You can leave out the pumpkin seeds if you prefer but please keep the walnuts as they really do make a difference.

~~PUMPKIN WALNUT BREAD~~

500g/1lb 2oz pumpkin (unprepared weight)

50g/2oz salted butter, melted

extra butter for greasing

60g/2 1/2oz caster/superfine sugar

1/2 tsp grated nutmeg

1/4 tsp cinnamon (not in the original recipe; I added this)

3 eggs, lightly beaten

350g/12oz strong white bread flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

100g/3 1/2oz walnuts, roughly chopped

2 Tbsp pumpkin seeds

Peel the pumpkin and discard the seeds.

Cut the flesh into small chunks and place in a steamer over nearly boiling water for about 30 minutes.

Leave to drain and cool then blitz in a food processor until you have a smooth puree.  Set aside.

Grease a 22cm X 11cm (8″ X 4″) loaf tin with butter then sprinkle with flour and dump out the excess. (Gino suggests greasing and lining the base and sides with greaseproof paper but you decide how you wish to do it – my breads just fell out of the tins when I turned them over)

Preheat oven to 190c/375f/gas 4. 180c for fan ovens.

Weigh out 280g/10oz of the pumpkin puree and place in a medium bowl.  Add the melted butter, sugar, nutmeg and eggs and mix all together.

Sift the flour, baking powder and salt into a second large bowl and make a well in the center.  Pour the pumpkin mixture into the well and stir all together with a wooden spoon until smooth.

Fold in the walnuts and pumpkin seeds.

Pour the mixture into the prepared loaf tin and bake in the middle of the oven for 1 hour.

Once cooked and golden, the loaf will shrink from the sides of the tin.

Allow the loaf to rest about 5 minutes out of the oven before turning it out onto a wire rack to cool.

I had extra batter so I made two other small pans of bread to use as samples at the market.  The pans are really small; I felt like I was cooking with my Easy Bake Oven!  Also, as my loaf tins were smaller, I baked them for about 20 minutes.

I did taste this after it was done and it really isn’t very sweet at all, it is more of a savory bread, hence the reason for it going well with cheese.

Leave a Reply

