STRAWBERRY CREAM BREAD

Even though I follow South Beach Diet, occasionally I make something that I really shouldn’t have.  I made this STRAWBERRY CREAM BREAD last week as we were having my mother-in-law over for dinner, so she is my excuse for making something sweet.

I’ve had this recipe for some time, but don’t know where it came from as I had retyped it to put into my recipe binder, so unfortunately, I can’t give credit to the originator of the recipe.

In looking for something to make, I really had no idea what to make although I was thinking of doing something simple.  Fortunately, hubby brought home a 400g punnet of strawberries from the Reduced to Clear section (oh you know how we love that section!) that he got for only 25p.  Considering that they normally go for about £1.99 on a good day, 25p was exceptionally good!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

STRAWBERRY CREAM BREAD

1 3/4 C flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 C butter, softened
3/4 C sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
1/2 C sour cream, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/4 C strawberries, fresh and coarsely chopped (do NOT use frozen) (fresh blueberries can also be used)
3/4 C walnuts, chopped (optional)

Preheat oven to 350f/180c.  Grease an 8″ X 4″ loaf pan.

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon; set aside.

In small bowl, beat butter until creamy.  Gradually add sugar, beat 1 minute or until light and airy.  Beat in eggs, one at a time.  Beat in sour cream and vanilla.

Stir into flow mixture only until dry ingredients are moistened.  Fold in berries and nuts, if using.  Pour into pan.

Bake for 1 hour or until toothpick comes out clean.

Strawberry Cream Bread

***LET STAND 10 MINUTES IN PAN***.  I emphasize this as the first time I made this, I was too hasty in getting it out of the pan…and half of it stayed in the pan! Turn out on rack to cool.

This went very nicely with a cuppa tea after dinner.  I gave mum-in-law half of what was left so that I didn’t end up eating the whole thing myself!

It’s really simple to make and you might want to try it with the blueberries or maybe even peaches.  Be experimental and enjoy!

********************************

Terri’s Tasty Tip….

What to do with…

Turnips:  Scrub and cook whole if small, or peel and cut in pieces if larger.  Cut into strips for crudites or grate in salads.  Boil, steam, roast, saute or stir fry, add to soups, stews and casseroles.  Good mashed with potatoes.  Leaves can be cooked like other greens.  Flavor pairing with lamb, bacon, duck, apples, mushrooms, potatoes, sherry, goose, game and cheese. (taken from MasterChef Kitchen Bible)

Leave a Reply

