OLD KITCHEN RELICS – PART I

Here I am way back in March 1971, icing my first cake.  Mom made the cake, from good old Betty Crocker (note box in background) but she let me ice it.  I usually got to lick the bowl, too!  Mom still has the whole set of those bowls and still uses them to this day!

I’m sure we all have old utensils, bowls, cookbooks, pots and pans that we’ve been using since the day we got them.  I have several items that were also handed down to me from mom, my grandmothers and even my mother-in-law.  So I thought I would share some of these items with you.

Here’s a few of the utensils I have that I still use often.  The aluminum measuring spoons I’ve had since the mid 80’s…OK, not THAT old, but I wouldn’t trade them for anything.  I also have an original yellow set of Tupperware measuring cups which we also use often.  The ladle at the top belonged to my maternal grandfather when he was still in Sicily and it too, is made of aluminum.  The red-handled ice cream scoop was mom’s as were the whet stone and the  ladle.  I remember dad sharpening knives on the stone…it got a lot of use.  Unfortunately, it has lost some of the stone and you can see the rod now.  It has a wooden handle and that string has been on there for as long as I can remember.  The ladle has a Bakelite handle.

This can of baking powder is from the early 70’s, in fact, prior to 1974 as it does not have a barcode.  Note, the CAN is from then, not the baking powder itself!  I just refill the can as needed.

My dad got me the cookie press back in 1976.  It was our first Christmas in PA and I wanted to make the butter spritz cookie recipe that I had gotten from my grandmother.  He paid all of $6.99 for it.  I still use it but the metal is wearing down where the cap goes that holds the discs, so it makes it a bit difficult as the dough squeezes out from places it shouldn’t!  The cookie cutters are from around the same time.  Unfortunately, I’m missing a couple of them.

The top bowl belonged to my paternal grandmother and the bottom one, to my maternal grandmother.  The bottom one is enamel over metal with a plastic handle.  It’s a bit chipped in places, but still quite usable.  The glass bowl has a very slight pink tint to it.

 This is a roasting fork that was handmade by my mother-in-law’s brother-in-law.  He was a blacksmith back in the 1940’s.  The fork is sitting on an old cookbook that my MIL picked up at a jumble sale.

The book was originally printed in 1937 and this copy is reprinted in 1944.

You can always tell the favorite recipes of the book owner by the number of spots on the pages!  She obviously favored breads and cakes!

To be continued……

One thought on “OLD KITCHEN RELICS – PART I

Leave a Reply

