WHOLESOME OAT MUFFINS FOR SOUTH BEACH DIET

Do YOU know the Muffin Man??

{}|||{}|||{}|||{}|||{}|||{}|||{}|||{}

Good Day!  Hope you’re all enjoying your weekend so far.  I had the pleasure today, of doing a video call with my parents, brother A, sis-in-law J and niece. (who is the author of the blog RoadRagingFoodie – see my blog list below)  I haven’t seen or talked to A & J since we left London.

As we were chatting about different things, the subject of my blog came up and Dad asked what the muffins were that are shown in the main picture.  I told him what they were and he was asking me what was in them.  He then proceeded to ask if I ever put apples in them, or blueberries, or peaches, or bananas, etc. etc.

He wasn’t being serious however he was being his usual silly self.  I asked him how Mom has been able to put up with him for the past 55 years!  It must be love!  He may be crazy at times…well, most of the time…but I’ll say one thing…I wouldn’t want him any other way!  Love ya’ Dad! 😉

So, as he asked about the muffins, I thought I would share the recipe (and maybe Mom will make them for him…hint, hint).  The recipe is from The South Beach Diet Supercharged book, but I have tweaked it a bit to my liking.  Mainly, I’ve used Agave Nectar in place of the sugar substitute and I’ve added raisins and dried apricots.

WHOLESOME OAT MUFFINS

225g/8oz  fat-free natural/plain yogurt
75g/2 1/2oz  porridge/rolled oats
140g/5oz  wholewheat flour
1 1/2 tsp  baking powder
1/2 tsp  baking soda
1/4 tsp  ground cinnamon (I use more…I love cinnamon)
1/4 tsp  salt
75g/2 1/2oz  chopped walnuts or pecans, or combination of both
2 Tbsp  raisins or dried apricots or dates, or a combination of these
5 Tbsp  Agave nectar or granulated sugar substitute
75ml/2 1/2fl.oz  rapeseed oil
1 large egg, beaten
5ml/1 tsp  vanilla extract/essence
2 Tbsp porridge oats

Preheat the oven to 220c/425f/Gas 7.  Coat a 12-muffin non-stick pan with cooking spray or line with paper or silicon cases.

In a small bowl, combine yogurt with 75g oats and set aside for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine the next five ingredients, flour through salt.  Stir in the nuts and dried fruit.

In a large bowl, whisk together the Agave, oil, egg and vanilla.  Stir in the oat/yogurt mixture.  Stir in the flour mixture until just combined.  Do not over mix.

Divide batter evenly among the muffin holes, filling then about 2/3 full.  Sprinkle the remaining 2 Tbsp oats over the muffins.

Bake for 14-16 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean.  Transfer the pan to a rack and let cool for 5 minutes before removing the muffins and transferring to a rack to cool completely.

Wholesome Oat Muffins

I usually leave two or three out and freeze the rest as I’m the only one eating them.  When I’ve eaten the the last one, I take out another two or three.  They taste just as fresh as the day they were made (once thawed!)  Feel free to
warm them a bit in the microwave before eating.  They go great with a nice cuppa!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

