I LOVE TO IRON…NOT!

A young man came home from work and found his new bride sobbing convulsively. “I feel terrible,” she told him. “I was ironing your suit and I burned a big hole in the seat of your trousers.”
“Forget it,” consoled her husband. “Remember that I’ve got an extra pair of pants for that suit.”
“Yes, and it’s lucky you have,” said the woman, drying her eyes. “I used them to patch the hole.”

I know that ironing clothes has nothing to do with food, but as I do my ironing in the kitchen, and my blog is, after all, called Terri’s Kitchen, I thought, why not?

Also, you can all breath a sigh of relief that I’m not going to complain about doing the ironing, even though I’m sure many of you dislike this domestic task that we must endure.

I will admit that I probably give myself more work than need be because I don’t just iron our clothes, I also iron the bed sheets and my dish towels, with the exception of the terrycloth towels.

Yes, I’m sure many of you are now thinking that I’ve lost my mind. (don’t worry…I lost that a long time ago!) But I hate wrinkled sheets and ironing the dish towels kills off any bacteria and germs that may be lurking about.  I actually learned that in my Food Hygiene course.

And as you have (hopefully) read this far, you are probably wondering what I’m actually going to discuss here regarding irons.  Well…the appliance company Phillips, has developed an iron that doesn’t burn your clothes, or should I say, prevents YOU from burning your clothes!

The manufacturer claims that the iron will not scorch any fabric even though there is only one temperature setting.  They say it will prevent you from having to switch temps on your iron when going from one fabric to another, ie: cotton to silk.  Personally, I don’t switch back and forth.  I do all the delicate stuff first and work my way up to a hotter temp, therefore alleviating the need to keep moving the dial.

The Phillips PerfectCare Iron claims that it can iron out wrinkles from any fabric even though the soleplate only reaches a temp of 100c/212f.  (Are we ironing the fabric or boiling it??)  Normal irons can heat up to a temp of 250c/480f.  Its secret?  It uses steam which is more gentle at removing wrinkles and more effective than high heat.  It sits on a water tank which releases water into the iron and comes out as steam and will give you up to two hours of ironing. (oh joy!)

Now, granted this all sounds wonderful, but first of all, I’m not usually ironing for two hours as I iron at least 2-3 times a week and second, I don’t have a problem burning or scorching anything.  I don’t think I ever damaged anything even when I was ironing at the tender age of 11.  (Yes, my mother was a slave driver…she made me iron my dad’s cotton hankies…love ya’ Ma!)

However, for those of you who seem to have a problem with burning fabric, then this is the machine for you.  If you have nothing better to spend your money on, then I highly recommend you run out now and buy one.  They cost between £230-£280, depending on the model.

I don’t know if they’re available in the U.S. or anywhere else for that matter, but if you’re interested I suggest you look around.

This is Terri signing off for the evening as I need to get in the kitchen and iron…um, I mean cook dinner!  It’s stuffed mackerel tonight.

Enjoy your dinner tonight…whatever it is!

=========================

Happy Anniversary!
Mom & Dad
55 Years

Leave a Reply

