LONDON CALLING – PART 3

Big Ben is actually the name of the bell in the Palace of Westminster which has a height of 316 feet.  If you want to reach Big Ben, you’ll need to climb the 334 limestone steps as there is no elevator!

 ##################

I took this picture from the steps of the National Gallery which is right at Trafalgar Square…you can see part of Nelson’s Column on the right.  We saw priceless works of art including Picasso, Rembrandt, Monet, Manet, Cezanne, Raphael, Michelangelo, Degas and Van Gogh…just to name a few!

Outside the Gallery, there are ‘street people’…entertainers, magicians, etc. who are just trying to earn a few £££.   The one that amused me the most was one of the living statues.

This young woman was dressed in Victorian garb and she was completely silver!  As you can see, even her hands and face were painted silver.  She reminded me of the Tin Man from The Wizard of Oz!  When we first arrived she had been standing very still on her box which, as you can see, is also painted silver.  She had a little silver box in front of her where you could throw money into.

Our second night in London, we went to a small Italian restaurant.  We had a waiter who was absolutely fabulous and was a bit of a comedian as well.  I think when a waiter or waitress has that type of personality it makes the visit that much better for the patrons.  I truly thought that he was Italian due to how he spoke but it turned out he was from Liverpool!

WW Pasta w/spinach & chicken in a Gorgonzola cream sauce

This was my meal.  I was so glad they had whole wheat pasta!

P also had a pasta dish and J had….um, I don’t remember what she had and I can’t tell what it is but I do remember it had some grilled veggies with it as you can see.  Take note of the typical Chianti bottle candle holder on the bottom left.

My brother A, had a veggie dish, I think this was cannollini.  We did finish off with a bit of desert.  My brother had some ice cream which I shared with him.

We left the restaurant and walked back to the hotel.  On the way, we passed this sign in the window of a shop….

I found this quite amusing…do they really have to tell people that it’s a window?  It appears so as the window had no signage on it (other than this one) so it was quite clear and obvious that people would possibly walk into it.

Terri’s Tasty London Tip…

London weather is unpredictable…ALWAYS have your brolly (umbrella) with you!

One thought on “LONDON CALLING – PART 3

  1. I am always amazed at those painted people and how still they are Terri! I saw one in Paris last December. FUNNY sign about the window!Lovely to catch up with your London news, see you later, Karen

Leave a Reply

