OUR LONDON TRIP!

Good day, dear reader!

We have been to London, had a great time and have (obviously) returned safely.  I didn’t think we could cram so much into such a short time.  The worst part of a holiday is that it takes so long to plan everything, and then before you know it, it’s all over and you’re back home. 😦

Regardless, it was great to see my brother and sis-in-law as the last time I saw them was two years ago when I went back home to the States for their 25th Anniversary Party.

We ate, drank, walked (in the rain – thank goodness we brought our brolly!), rode in taxis, hopped on and off the Tube, went to museums, saw priceless works of art, shopped, went to the Theatre and had a lot of laughs…I’m exhausted!

After we got there on Sunday and checked in, we went for some food at a place called Garfunkel’s.  Once we stuffed our faces with some grubb, we decided to do the museum circuit.  Me, hubby (P) and brother (A) went to the Natural History Museum and the Science Museum but sis-in-law (J) wanted to go to the Victoria & Albert Museum.

Natural History Museum

At the Science Museum, there was an exhibit with several models of ships, from early times up to the present.  Being a former resident of a suburb of Philadelphia, I felt compelled to take a picture of this…

S.S. Philadelphia

This is the SS Philadelphia, built in 1888.  It was the first ocean liner to cross the Atlantic in less than 6 days.

There was also a section of calculators and counting machines, etc.  Does anyone remember this?…

This is a number and letter board (the letters are on the other side) and I remember this from when I was quite young.  I don’t remember though, if we had one (my brother didn’t remember it and he’s older than me) or someone we knew had it or perhaps I know it from school.  Regardless, I remember it from somewhere!

After all that walking through the museums, we were all getting hungry…and quite thirsty!  So what better way to quench a thirst but to go to a pub!  For those of you who have never been over to the UK, the pubs here have, rather unusual names, or so you might think.  This first one we went to was called The Hoop & Toy.  We had a nice pub dinner there and a few beers then headed back to the hotel.  We were all pretty tired by then, so we adjourned to our respective rooms for a good night’s sleep.

to be continued….

Terri’s Tasty London Tip…

Always assume the taxi ride will cost more than you think….lots more!

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “OUR LONDON TRIP!

  1. No, my sis-in-law did the V&A. I was more interested in the Natural History Museum really. I'll be posting more about the trip over the next few days…didn't want to put it all into one post. And not to disappoint you or Marie, I did take some pics of food which you will see later! 😉

  2. Sounds like you REALLY made the most of your trip to London Terri – it all sounds fabulous, especially the PUB LUNCHES! Did you get to the V and A? I was there with Hannah last year ~ it is amazing, as well as the science museum too of course.Karen

Leave a comment