THE CLEARANCE SECTION

 Currently 59F/15C Rainy 😦
Did you hear about the dumb girl who got locked in a grocery store…and starved to death?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now, by no means are my husband and I poor, but we’re not loaded with money either.  We are, how shall we say, comfortable.  But that doesn’t mean we don’t like a good bargain…

Every Saturday, we do our grocery shopping.  We try to get out reasonably early to avoid the crowds (see my post ‘At the Grocery Store’) and get back home to enjoy the rest of the day.

One of the first sections we hit is the ‘Reduced to Clear’ in the meat/fish section.  We try to look for the items that are in the ‘white bags’ meaning that they came from the fresh meat or fish counters. There are many times we have picked up some really nice pork joints, rack of lamb, stewing beef or sirloin steaks.  For fish, we’ve gotten sea bass, cod, haddock or our favorite, whole salmon, all at a reduced price.

Hubby stopped at the store last night and checked out the reduced section, and what did he find, but  a whole salmon!  Woo Hoo!  Originally priced at £17.00, reduced to £11.05.  Yes, as I said, we love a bargain.  Luckily, it’s already gutted, even though that’s really not a problem as I have gutted many a fish before.  I thought I would take a picture of it to show you…

I measured it too…25 in./64 cm.  We should get lots of fillets from this.  Now I need to get in there and slice it up!

Terri’s Tasty Tip…

As the weekend is fast approaching, here’s a tall, cool drink to have while you’re sitting at the side of the pool.  Make sure you listen to Elvis singing ‘Blue Hawaii’ while flying through the eye of this hurricane!

Hurricane

1 oz. each of the following: vodka, gin, light rum, Amaretto, Triple Sec
1/2 oz. 151 proof rum
grapefruit juice
pineapple juice
grenadine

Put ice cubes into a tall glass.  Pour all of the alcohol into a cocktail shaker.  Add equal amounts of the grapefruit and pineapple juices along with several ice cubes.  Shake vigorously and strain into glass with ice.  Top up with grenadine.

Don’t forget the sun screen!

6 thoughts on “THE CLEARANCE SECTION

  1. I don't mind buying dented tins or crushed boxes. I do admit I balk at buying reduced fish, meat and poultry though, especially fish. I always want my fish to be as fresh as possible, perhaps because I am not really a fish lover to begin with. Love the picture of you set up with all your "wares!" xxoo

  2. I have cooked it very similar to that before. I'll put the fillets in foil then add olive oil, white wine, garlic, chillies, ginger, soy sauce, etc. and then wrap it up in the foil and bake it. It stays so moist…I could probably eat a whole side of salmon in one sitting like that!

  3. Yes, that is what I mean – reduced to clear is often just because the pacakging is dented or crushed, as you mentioned. Silly really, but good for us bargain hunters!Salmon is one of my favourites, and I LOVE it when baked with chillies, ginger and spring onions, for an Asian flavour – then a little soy sauce and chilli dipping sauce on just before the end of cooking! Looking forward to your salmon recipes Terri!

  4. We hit all reduced sections in the stores, not just the chilled section. I've gotten mass amounts of sugar for half price just because the bags had a small rip in them. Peter even got his Nicorette patches in RTC last week because the box was a bit crushed! And as it's just the two of us, I usually just cut up the salmon into fillets. We'll be having it tonight so I'll try to get some pics along the way!

  5. Thank goodness we are not the only ones who love "reduced to cleat" stuff! I have had some amazing bargains that way, and often with DAYS and DAYS left on the sell by dates too. LUCKY LUCKY you with that salmon, that is an amazing buy – looking foward to seeing what you cook with it Terri!Karen

Leave a Reply

