PRESERVES FOR THE MARKET

A mother complained to her doctor about her daughter’s
strange eating habits.
“All day long she lies in bed and eats yeast and car wax.
What will happen to her, doctor?,” the mother inquired.
“Eventually,” said the doctor, “she will rise and shine!”
*************************************************
Hope everyone is having a great weekend so far and enjoying all the fireworks.  Unfortunately, Independence Day is an American holiday so this is just a normal weekend here in the UK and hubby has to go to work tomorrow. 😦 
We went shopping yesterday and I decided I needed more supplies for making some other jams or chutneys.  I got some nice vine tomatoes, cherries and also picked up some dry mustard.  This morning we went to the farm shop so I could get some Bramley (cooking) apples and cauliflower.  I think I’ve got enough foodstuff to keep me busy cooking over the next few days.


I’ll probably be making Tomato Chutney, Cherry Jam, Honey Mustard or other flavor, Chili Jelly (with the apples) and Piccalilli with the cauliflower.

Cauli – fresh from the farm

During the May market, my chili jelly sold out…well almost.  I only have one jar left but I sold seven jars.  I usually have samples out for people to try and they all loved the chili jelly, so I’m going to make more.  I like to keep my customers happy!


Last week I made Redcurrant Jelly and it’s a gorgeous ruby red color.  It looks better in person, but you get the idea.

Red Currant Jelly



I haven’t made the jar labels yet but will take care of that this week.  The above picture was obviously taken in the sunlight in our conservatory.  The bottom picture was taken in the kitchen. (note some of my cookbooks in the background; yes, that is only some of them…perhaps that could be a subject for a future post…)




Well hubby is in the kitchen cooking away; venison steaks, runner beans and curried chickpeas…and I’m enjoying a nice cold Guiness….mmmm.


So until next time, bon appetite!


Terri’s Tasty Tip…It is easier to separate an egg when it is cold so take the eggs straight from the refrigerator.  tap the egg once or twice against the rim of a small bowl to crack the shell and drop it into the bowl.  Then with clean hands, carefully slide your fingers under the yolk and let the egg white dribble out through your fingers. Drop the yolk into a separate bowl.



4 thoughts on “PRESERVES FOR THE MARKET

  1. I decided to weigh the cauliflower…a mere 960g/2lbs+ Oh my! This should give me a good amount of piccalilli. And I absolutely love Cauli Cheese! Never had it until I came here and hubby made it for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

