SALE AT THE GREEN GROCERS

On Saturday, hubby and I did our usual food shopping but every 3-4 weeks or so, we head to Ramsgate to go to our favorite Asian store and also the Green Grocer Store.  We make alot of our own Indian curry and Oriental dishes and like to keep a stock of some of the basics.  So we bought noodles, coconut milk,

seaweed and fish sauce…

‘SQUID’ brand fish sauce…how apropos!

The we headed down to the Green Grocer’s.  We were almost out of garlic (horrors! — only one bulb left!) and as we use quite a bit, we don’t mess around when we purchase garlic…

14 Garlic Bulbs

The hubby also selected some chili peppers while I rummaged through the ‘reduced to clear’ section.  I found a bag of fresh spinach, 2 bags of Bramley (cooking) apples, and 5 bags of tomatoes (6 ea. bag), all for 50p each.
The toms were fairly ripe, so yesterday I made a nice pot of fresh tomato/pizza sauce which I jarred…

I’ll be using the apples to make Elderflower Jelly, which I need to get to this week before the flowers start  to fade.  We have three large elderberry trees in our back garden and the flowers are in full bloom right now.

Elderflowers

The May market is this coming Sunday, so I better get a move on!

Terri’s Tasty Tip…

The basic flavoring of Thai dressings and sauces is a balance of
sweet/sour/salty/hot, so you need a combination of sugar, lime juice, fish or soy sauce and chili.  Here’s a quick and easy recipe for a Thai-style dipping sauce that is good for dunking shrimp/prawns, spring rolls or small fishcakes in.  It can also be used to drizzle over rice and stir-fry dishes.

For a basic sauce, try mixing 2 Tbsp. sweet chili sauce (sweet and hot) with 1 Tbsp. lime juice (sour), and 2 tsp. fish or soy sauce (salty).  Then adjust the flavor balance until you’re happy with the end result.  Add some chopped coriander or cilantro if you’d like a bit of green in it.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “SALE AT THE GREEN GROCERS

  1. I've got the recipe from grandma, but thanks. I'll get around to it soon. I have all the cans of tomato ready.Hmm elderflowers sound interesting. I don't think I ever tasted it over there though.

  2. Sauce isn't difficult to make…and you don't need to cook it for hours either. If you need the recipe, I can send it to you on email. It's the same way that grandma makes it. Making it from fresh tomatoes is nicer as you can remove the seeds which then removes the bitterness. I usually make it from canned toms but if I get a glut of fresh ones, I'll take advantage. Regarding elderflowers, it's really hard to say what they taste like because they have a taste all their own. I guess if I had to describe the smell of them, I would say they have a sweet, magnolia, vanilla, musky type smell. It smells really nice when I'm near the trees in the backyard. However, they don't smell as nice when they're being cooked! Over here you can buy something called elderflower cordial. It's a concentrated sugary liquid that you can mix with water to drink…very popular here.

  3. Yum! That all sounds tasty. I still have sauce making on my agenda but haven't gotten to it yet. What does an elderflower taste like exactly?

Leave a Reply

