WHOOPIE PIES

A waitress is explaining to a guest in the restaurant that the special of the day is calf tongue in beautiful port wine sauce. The guest shakes his head and says, “I don’t want anything that comes from an animal’s mouth, just give me some eggs.”

***********************

I had my first taste of a Whoopie Pie back in the early 70’s when my parents, brother and I would vacation in Lancaster, PA…Pennsylvania Dutch Country, home of Amish Folk.  You can find them in any of the numerous bakeries or restaurants, but our favorite place was Kitchen Kettle in Intercourse, PA 
where they have over 30 different shops in their little ‘village’.  Our favorite shop was the one where they made the jams, jellies and pickles along with the small bakery inside where they made cookies, cakes, breads and of course, Whoopie Pies.  Best of all, you could sample many of the items they sold.  You didn’t need to have lunch after going in there!

For those of you who might not know what a Whoopie Pie is, it is two round chocolate cakes sandwiched together with a sweet, fluffy cream filling made with egg whites, milk, vanilla, powdered sugar and shortening.  Over the years they have added other flavor cakes such as pumpkin and red velvet, but chocolate is the original, and in my opinion, the best of all.

Proper PA Amish Whoopie Pie

In my time living here in the UK, there have been some things that have trickled over from across the pond and Whoopie Pies are one of them.  As someone familiar with the great Whoopie, I was thrilled when I first heard about it…until I read the first article I saw on the subject.  The following is a word for word article about Whoopies that was in the newspaper about two years ago.  I was so shocked by what I read, I kept the article and told my parents about it (who now happen to live in Lancaster County and my dad drives a bakery truck making deliveries). 

*************

WHY WE’RE ALL SWEET ON WHOOPIE PIES

Close your eyes and imagine a cross between a Viennese whirl, a macaroon and a chocolate eclair.  Intrigued?  Well you’ve just pictured a Whoopie Pie – the latest U.S. foodie craze to hit Britain.  The Whoopie has two sponge cushions filled with rich homemade buttercream.  Each pie is decorated on top with colourful, edible trimmings and a fondant glaze.  Available from Harrod’s food hall (£2.50 each), the Whoopies are selling out every day.  So how did they get their name?  Amish women would put them in their husbands’ lunchbox and they, upon finding them, would shout ‘whoopie!’  A cake with history – what more could you ask for? 

******************

UK Whoopie Pie Imposters

Buttercream???  Decorated???  I should think not!

WHOOPIE PIE EATERS OF AMERICA…STAND UP FOR THE WHOOPIE AND BE HEARD AND SAY NO TO THE IMPOSTERS!!

 

Terri’s Tasty Tip…

Eat onions, garlic and leeks for healthy hips.  Researchers at King’s College London found that women who ate a diet high in these had lower levels of hip osteoarthritis.  They contain a compound that slows the production cartilage-damaging enzymes.

2 thoughts on “WHOOPIE PIES

  1. Pingback: Makin’ Whoopie! «

  2. I know, but in all fairness unless you've had a real whoopie pie you really can't compare it, and in all honesty you probably would think it's just two sponges stuck together with icing in the middle. You and I know it's not, but these Brits are easily bamboozled! And you know how the Brits love to go over the top with anything, hence the decorations. The best whoopie pies I ever made was some Bakewell Whoopies that were very, VERY good!!! http://theenglishkitchen.blogspot.com/2010/05/bakewell-whoopie-pies.html

Leave a Reply

